

## **The Ervin Crumbley Award**

## Policy Statement of the Council of Governors

**Purpose**: The Ervin Crumbley Award is the highest honor that the Lions of Georgia, Inc. can bestow upon a Lion. It recognizes the Lion's outstanding, life-long contributions to the Lions of Georgia, Inc. Any active member of a Lions Club in Georgia is eligible for this award; however, a Lion may only receive the honor one time.

**Limit on Awards**: The Council of Governors may elect to award up to four awards each year. No more than one award may be awarded to the Lions of a District in a Lions year. Thus, it is possible that a District may have no awards awarded to members of their District, but that "unawarded" award may not be given to a member of another District.

**Selection**: In April or May of each year, the voting members of the Council of Governors (i.e. the Governors and the Council Chair) will meet in executive session to determine the honorees for that Lions Year.

Considerations: In determining what Lions are selected for the Award, the Council of Governors should consider the Lion's contributions throughout their Lions career. The length of that career, the contributions and leadership that the Lion has played in developing Lionism on the District or Multiple District Level, and the quality of dedicated service should be considered. It is not the intent of this award to be given to the one Lion that has helped the current Governor the most. Instead, the award should be given to a Lion who has given long and untiring service to the District and Multiple District over many years.

**Presentation:** Given the nature of this award, it should be the highlight of the annual District Governors' banquet at State Convention. The Council Chair, together with the individual governors, will present the medals to the honoree. Such ceremony should also publicly recognize the prior honoree of the Medal.

## **ERVIN CRUMBLEY AWARD RECIPIENTS**

<u>2005-2006</u>	2006-2007	2007-2008	2008-2009
A Haynes Townsend, PDG	A Leslie Miller	A Ray Moore, PDG	A C. Mark Miller, PCC
B Lil Shurtleff, PDG	B Jerry Kaiser, PCC	B Joe Bill Brannon, PDG	B Jerry Ney, PDG
C Joe Cox, PDG	C Terry Foreman, PDG	C Walter P. Sealy, Jr., PCC	C C. B. Cotton Hester, PDG
D Dan Stuart, PCC	D Conny Shirley, PDG	D Dick Smith, PDG	D Ed Hashbarger, PDG
E Cecil Daniels, PDG	E Tom Jackson, PDG	E Bob Pascal	E Max Gallman
F William B. Craig, PCC	F Hank Barks, PDG	F Jon Winters, PDG	F Sandy Mercer, PCC
<u>2009-2010</u>	<u>2010-2011</u>	<u>2011-2012</u>	<u>2012-2013</u>
A Grover Newman, PDG	A Earl Culberson, PCC	A Charles L. Chapman, PDG	A Scott Warren, PDG
B Ron Zeppieri, PCC	B Donald W. Pope, PDG	B Dr. Krystal Bragg	B Chris Barbieri, PDG
C Herbert Hughes, PDG	C Duncan Sinclair, PDG	C Jan Sinclair	C Chris Sumner, PDG
D Beverly Shirley, PDG	D William "Bill" Mundy	D Arthur Gurr	D Grace Clower, PCC
E Steve Humphry, PDG	E Marlene Humphry, PDG	E Jacki Dixon	E Hannah Flynn
F Kembra L. Smith, PCC	F Dr. Beverly Roberts, PID	F Paul May, PDG	F Linda Selby
<u>2013-2014</u>	<u>2014-2015</u>	<u>2015-2016</u>	<u>2016-2017</u>
L Vanessa Stanley, PDG	L Sara Henson	L David White, PDG	L Lester Dean, PDG
I Olin C. Newby, PDG	I Anne Mundy, DGE	I Pete and Judy Stamsen	I Vicki Hubbard, PDG
O Billy Hancock, ZC	O Georgia Taylor, PDG	O David McDonald	O James E. "Jim" Ervin, PIP
N Chip Nedza, DGE		N Coke Geddings, PDG	N Len Cutuli, DGE
<u>2017-2018</u>			
L Shelia Morrow			
I Doreen Stallworth			
O Melody Godfrey			
N Richard "Rick" Mizell			